ximeria: (Default)
ximeria ([personal profile] ximeria) wrote2003-07-23 02:02 am

It's a joy watching SG the wrong way?

Kinda, I guess *g*

I've just finished season 5 (shush, I've watched 5 or 6 eps of season six as well, tho not cronologically *g*). I had to run fast to catch up... 5 season in half a year... not bad I'd dare say *g*

I know, everyone else has already said their thing about the end of season 5, but this helps ME get a grip on the eps


I dreaded Meridian, sure, of couse, I HATE character deaths, especially characters I like *g*... though even though I've watched what there is of season 7 already, and I know yada yada yada, it still hits me, but I can take a step back and actually enjoy the episodes and just the general information, I happen to like the character of Jonas Quinn, sure, to me he could never REPLACE Daniel, but I still liked him.

But... Jonas is not the point here *g*. The point is having watched Meridian I can say it's a beautiful episode, and IMHO (or not so humble *snort*) it was well acted and in its own way it carried a strong love for the character it said goodbye to. It's an episode I'm glad I've watched. One thing, tho... I've talked to people who were angry that Jack didn't say a proper goodbye to Daniel... um, guys, did we watch the same episode or are you incapable of reading Jack? Yes, you've seen him being loud mouthed, overly annoying and a bit of a 'bully' I guess... but the side I saw, when he said goodbye to Daniel in the 'gate-room'... it was the Jack O'Neill I like. He admitted he'd miss Daniel and even if the acting wasn't Oscar worthy, it was still good enough for ME to convey the emotions.

Now, Revelations, the season ending... I'm glad I got around to watching it, because I was pleasantly surprised. I've had my ears howled full how Jack doesn't mourn, doesn't grieve... sorry, but... what a load of BS. Each member of SG1 grieves in his/her own way, and Jack's just not going to sit down and cry his eyes out, sorry, I don't think that's his style... what fanfic writers want to write him doing OFF-DUTY is one thing, but the man is a pro soldier and as such, he puts his duty before his own emotional state. He chooses to concentrate on his work instead of getting all caught up in his grief... that's his way of doing it, of getting through it. It doesn't mean he's okay with having let Danile go, but there really didn't seem any other way and it was, at least at that point, what Daniel wanted. I think sometimes fanfic authors forget that Daniel wouldn't have been able to get back to full health EVEN if Jacob had managed to heal him. Not unless they'd found some miracle cure for him, or a sarqophagus. As it was, they were running out of time. And in truth, could anyone have had the heart to put Daniel through that much pain? He had the chance to try something new, to become so much more than he was as a human. That it in the end turned out to not be enough, that he couldn't put the 'rules' over his ethics and his heart... well, that's the Daniel we HAVE seen through the previous seasons.

Well, Revelations, anyway (dammit, I'm rambling again). I liked the ending. A bit cheesey, perhaps, but it appealed to me. As Teal'c said, perhaps it was an error in the ventilation system... then again, maybe not. At least I love the little smile on Jack's face as there is another... error in the vent system.

Conclusion? Well, I think I learned the errors of my ways... I've been shunning these two eps for a while, because I kept listening to people on my stargate lists... I think I'll do what I ended up doing in Smallville. Ignore most of the episode discussions and just enjoy the fic, enjoy the rants of my fellow LJ users and take the show as it comes. I refuse to look at the dark side of season 8 until we get there. I'll just stay here in my little corner and enjoy the fact that my favorite sci-fi show is still on the air and that it seems it will be for another season. What I've seen of season 7 so far, well, let's just say, I've been surprised in the good way. Some shows die when they reach this age, whereas it seems, at least for now, that SG has been rejuvinated -- and even if they choose to go in directions that might pain my heart, not necessarrily as a slasher, but as a viewer in general, I WILL give them the benefit of doubt, because as it is, we can right every wrong in our own little world. I may be foolish, but I think I'll put my trust in the people who make the show, the actors, the directors, the writers... not as individuals, but as a team that seems to have found a formula that works. In my, and again, perhaps not so darned humble opinion, I'm just glad they've got good actors and a guy like Peter DeLuise playing puppeteer.

So, until they actually convince me that Sam would call Jack anything BUT sir, even off duty and that he'd call her anything but Major or Cater... well, I'm feeling safe in my little cocoon of slash -- hell, there's always the quantum mirror, right? If we can't have this reality, we'll bloody well just hi-jack another. Thus spake the Queen of Denial ^_~

[identity profile] ashism.livejournal.com 2003-07-22 05:57 pm (UTC)(link)
Personally i think Meridian was a crap episode, not because of anything connected to Daniel, but because it felt so rushed. Michael's last-minute decision to leave seems like it affected the quality of the ep.

BTW, my being a Jonas fan has nothing to do with the way i see the ep, i was a complete Daniel addict when i saw this, disliked Jonas for the whole time until S6 when he proved himself to me as a character.

I think the actors were great, i loved Jack's goodbye to Daniel, it was so him. Beautiful (i cried dammit!) ;)

As episodes go, it's not a fav, but if it's on the TV i'm drawn to it simply because it's "The one where Daniel died" and "The one where Jonas first appeared". It's memorable, i'll give it that :)
ext_31419: (hot)

[identity profile] ximeria.livejournal.com 2003-07-22 06:02 pm (UTC)(link)
LOL
See, what I love about LJ-land... we can keep a sober tone here and still not fully agree *g* -- nah, you're right, it seemed a bit rushed, but as such, I've seen it done worse on other shows where actors have stopped with very short notice... Not that I remember specifics, but it's happened occasionally when they remove a character, by death or otherwise where one goes 'huh?' *g* -- but I'm biased, having watched the show 'the wrong way around' -- but you're right, there's nothing THAT likable about Jonas until he tediously works at showing his worth in S6

One things for sure, I loved Fallen/Homecoming... The Geek Squad strikes again... so anyone can say what they want, but seeing Daniel and Jonas kick Goa'uld ass... well, i had fun *g*

[identity profile] ashism.livejournal.com 2003-07-22 06:10 pm (UTC)(link)
LOL
See, what I love about LJ-land... we can keep a sober tone here and still not fully agree *g*


Oh dear, a mature conversation in the SG fandom, what is the world coming to? ;) ::evil cackle::

One things for sure, I loved Fallen/Homecoming... The Geek Squad strikes again... so anyone can say what they want, but seeing Daniel and Jonas kick Goa'uld ass... well, i had fun *g*

Me too! Sooo...about that Jonas/Daniel fic? Heee. Watching them together, you can plainly see that they're two very different men, who have led two very different lives; how anyone could say they were the same ::shakes head:: but i loved watching them together *g* and lol @ 'The Geek Squad'.

I must rewatch those two eps :)

I agree with you on all counts...

[identity profile] ginger931.livejournal.com 2003-07-22 11:32 pm (UTC)(link)
And you weren't rambling.

I am sooooo asking my Family for the DVD box sets of the released episodes for my B-day (*wheeee* month and a half away!)

*laughs*

[livejournal.com profile] eastland (AKA, MY Daniel) shakes his head when he hears this--I can see you now, sitting there glued to your TV for DAYS. I'll never see you again.

There are so very many episodes I have never seen.
I am looking forward to seeing them in order.

oooh--and SURELY there will be Extra stuff?
ext_31419: (Default)

Re: I agree with you on all counts...

[identity profile] ximeria.livejournal.com 2003-07-23 01:03 am (UTC)(link)
There IS extra stuff... *eg*

And yes, get the boxed sets, they're sooo good. And thanks... glad to hear I wasn't rambling too much ^_~

@_@

[identity profile] ginger931.livejournal.com 2003-07-23 01:11 am (UTC)(link)
*psssst*

I had a Stargate dream last night.

*giggles*

I NEVER luck into scenarios like this in my slumberland...but THERE it was.

I couldn't remember it when I woke up today...
But I felt oddly charged.

I was slicing sashimi this afternoon at work...and it all came rushing back.

A J/D sandwich.
I broke out in a sweat.

(i KNOW!!!! How could my subconscious be that kind?)

Had to tell ya.
*giggles again*

ext_31419: (Default)

Re: @_@

[identity profile] ximeria.livejournal.com 2003-07-23 01:15 am (UTC)(link)
LOL
Well yes, typical, at the most inopportune moments... *g*

And such lovely imagery...

[identity profile] x5-536.livejournal.com 2003-07-23 03:46 am (UTC)(link)
but the side I saw, when he said goodbye to Daniel in the 'gate-room'...
yeah he did.
in fact it's a good j/d episode.
but of course, when i watched it the first time, i was kinda annoyed at jack for not doing more (note: i watched it after being awake for 40 hours and after having watched 20 episodes of stargate, bwahahaha!) but it's *jack*, it's HIS way of doing things, duh! and when i got over this, that is after SLEEEEEPing, i did realise that jack's said a LOT in those few words [i even used them as my email signature =)]

. I've had my ears howled full how Jack doesn't mourn, doesn't grieve...
oh but he does...i think what we meant was that he insisted on going back to work immediately but that's just jack as i said above. he's affected, in fact you can see it in his expression...like in that part where he's holding his P90 (ot something like that) at the beginning of revelations...

the reason i haven't watched meridian and revelations again IS because they're too emotionally-charged episodes!

He chooses to concentrate on his work instead of getting all caught up in his grief... that's his way of doing it, of getting through it
exactly what i said above =)

At least I love the little smile on Jack's face as there is another... error in the vent system.
the breeze! we love the breeze! *giggles* that was our ([livejournal.com profile] boobinflation and i) motto after watching revelations, LOL.

well i don't really know what other people think about meridian, i don't read ANY spoilers or thoughts or anything unless i've seen the episode. and by then, everyone i know had already seen meridian.

i know that [livejournal.com profile] boobinflation does not like that episode but that's because she's in DENIAL! she wants to make as if what happened in meridian never happened, so what better way than to dismiss the episode? hehe.

[identity profile] x5-536.livejournal.com 2003-07-23 03:48 am (UTC)(link)
i;ve just seen the length of this comment. O_O.
ext_31419: (Default)

[identity profile] ximeria.livejournal.com 2003-07-23 03:51 am (UTC)(link)
::laughs::
but it's a GOOD comment. I'm just glad to see I wasn't the only one feeling like this about the eps *g*

You know list-life, there are often so many people on those lists that it's difficult to speak up and if you do there's always the risk of running into some of the more... obsessed fans. I've got no problem with being obsessed, but some take it to the extreme and beyond *g*

[identity profile] x5-536.livejournal.com 2003-07-23 03:54 am (UTC)(link)
which is why i NEVER participate in list discussions!
ext_31419: (Default)

[identity profile] ximeria.livejournal.com 2003-07-23 04:03 am (UTC)(link)
::nods::
same thing here... it's a different sanity around here in LJ-land *g*