Life, mailinglists and other trivial things...
I'm back... I think *g*
::looks around and pets her Jack and Daniel muses::
It's purely therapeutical, ya know *winkwinknudgenudge*
::sighs::
I've been out and about tonight -- and for once, whaddya know? The weather was behaving. It's a bit chilly but at least it's dry.
My cold is on its dying breath... oh, and I'm surprised to see so many mails in my inbox... or not. Is it just me or is AG by now, a place for discussing things to death? I figure by now I won't even be posting there anymore (I'm in my drama queen period *g*) -- Seriously, why can't people play nice anymore? I think I'm gonna go back to gateway, since that at least is a low traffic list. Are all mailing lists heading for hell? I get that vibe, unfortunately. Even newer ones, ::coughs:: like lists for SGA... I'm surprised that the sh** hit the fan as fast as it did. Do people generally whine/bicker more these days? Are people too sensitive? I have no bloody idea, but my poor inbox is groaning...
::posts entry before her Daniel muse can drag her back into the car::
::looks around and pets her Jack and Daniel muses::
It's purely therapeutical, ya know *winkwinknudgenudge*
::sighs::
I've been out and about tonight -- and for once, whaddya know? The weather was behaving. It's a bit chilly but at least it's dry.
My cold is on its dying breath... oh, and I'm surprised to see so many mails in my inbox... or not. Is it just me or is AG by now, a place for discussing things to death? I figure by now I won't even be posting there anymore (I'm in my drama queen period *g*) -- Seriously, why can't people play nice anymore? I think I'm gonna go back to gateway, since that at least is a low traffic list. Are all mailing lists heading for hell? I get that vibe, unfortunately. Even newer ones, ::coughs:: like lists for SGA... I'm surprised that the sh** hit the fan as fast as it did. Do people generally whine/bicker more these days? Are people too sensitive? I have no bloody idea, but my poor inbox is groaning...
::posts entry before her Daniel muse can drag her back into the car::

no subject
The Peagasus_gate incident was just stupid, and I'm sorry for greensilver that the list took that turn. People are expecting too much of that show, and they are the same people as in SG fandom. If it were up to me, I'd keep the two fandoms stricly seperated. I really don't want to hear the same bitching in two fandoms.
no subject
I remember somone whining about that ljs are locked and can't be viewed by everyone -- well isn't that the same as lists? You have to be a member to be able to read the entries...
::shakes head::
but you're right -- like I mentioned to a friend earlier tonight, I'd really rather they stopped the show before it goes/went completely off the rails. I want my SG memories to be good -- unfortunately I haven't been impressed by the gloom and doom so far -- and I'm afraid my fellow fans carry a great deal of the fault for that -- the negative air isn't exactly furthering the fun...
Playing Nicely
I think that no matter how reasonable or polite a list mod may be, there will always be someone who wants to argue. I've seen it in Xena, in special interest groups, on usenet groups ... nothing new under the sun, isn't that true!.
I expect to see something flare up on average every 6 weeks on groups. If it doesn't, it means nobody is saying anything?! *bg*
But the warnings posts for SG lists (eg H/C, AG, etc) really get up my nose. Since I really try hard to work out stings for the ends of stories, the warnings give the whole blankin' thing away in some cases. I have deliberately not bothered posting some stories as the 0 post warnings would make the story a waste of time. They're just sitting on the hard drive and probably won't see the light of day. I doubt that many have the discipline to skip over the warnings, although since I am a non-whumper, readers are safe.
One more thing (aren't I chatty today!). In the digest version of messages from groups, the 0 post often turns up several messages after the 1 post. I don't have time to fiddle about jumping from one section of a 345 kb msg to go from one post to another just so I can read things in order, or so I can read warnings first. When that happens, I don't read the fic.
Re: Playing Nicely
Another thing I don't get are the people on the lists who say that they also flip to the last pages of a book to check who makes it. I used to do that too... that was BEFORE I got into the teenage years. Nowadays I want the surprise of the story. I'm actually all for the 'warnings withheld' option. I mean, if there IS something to actually warn against. What made me laugh about the comments on AG was that people almost reacted as if EVERYONE would substitute the warning option with 'warning withheld' -- which of course isn't the case. It never ceases to amaze me that people jump the gun like that instead of actually using the brains they have -- if they actually HAVE any -- occasionally I do have my doubts.
And yes, another reason why I tend to put the header into the same post as the story, is because I also get the posts out of order. I get part 1/1 and a couple of hours later I get 0/1... Trust me, it's not only when you're on digest. *g*
Re: Playing Nicely
However, the pairing is often the twist for some of my fics. That is well above the spoiler space. Nothing to keep it hidden. J/Other or D/Other apparently isn't good enough, etc. So, while pairing has to be kept in the 0 post, it's pretty pointless to post some of my fics. If the pairing, a major plot twist, is revealed prior to reading the fic, then I have wasted my time trying to construct a particular plot. :sigh:
Re: Playing Nicely
As for the warning space -- heck, why not just allow the FEW people who will use it to have the 'warnings withheld' it's better than them not posting at all, right?
Re: Playing Nicely
I've just looked at the enormous AG digests that arrived in my inbox in the past 14 hours. I'm going to retreat to my lj. If AG gets back to normal transmission, please could you let me know?
::hugs:: from Tilley
Re: Playing Nicely
I've currently got AG on no-mail -- which seems to make my dear inbox VERY happy ^_~ -- I don't know why it has to go boom every two weeks or so -- but I have to admit I'm getting slightly annoyed with it by now.
Exploding lists
Re: Exploding lists
Right -- I just had a flashback to my smallville days - the major list was near 2,000 members by the time I left -- I'm just impressed that 1,000 people in the SG fandom manage such discussions en masse -- especially considering these people are older than most of the ones on the smallville lists -- I've just always seen my old smallville lists as 'how bad it can get' *g*
But yeah, I guess it COULD be worse, it may just be because it's happened so much lately on more than one list -- even the smaller ones, that it rubbed me the wrong way.
Somehow I find LJ land far safer...