I'm SO impressed... not
I swung by the AG list tonight
::winces::
Question -- why can you post positive fb, read: squeeing fangirlish rubbish, but you can't post crit on the list? I've never seen a worse case of brown nosing in fandom before (maybe I'm just innocent and haven't seen all the bad stuff...) I have to admit I haven't read the fic in question, just like I haven't read the last god knows how many that Biblio's posted. I just don't care that much for her writings anymore -- might be because she's stuck with seasons 1-3 and as much as those seasons had some damned good eps that spawned fic-bunnies near and far, that's it. At some point you have to move on. I think that's why I stopped reading her stuff
Still, I'm surprised that you can't post your opinion, be it good or bad. Sure, maybe the girl in question should have elaborated a little more on what she meant, but to me it was clear as day, it might not have been 115% constructive, but if I'd gotten fb like that I'd have sat down and thought long and hard about it and maybe try to see if the girl didn't have a point.
What I really didn't like, was the number of people 'beating' her down. Jeez people, get a bloody life -- there's more to life than fandom. Take fb as it comes, good as bad -- analyse it, see if they're right and then MAYBE it's time you get your head out of your *** and develop your writing before it goes stale. I know I listen to good as well as bad fb (unless it's that time of the month, in which case I'm excused ^_~)
::winces::
Question -- why can you post positive fb, read: squeeing fangirlish rubbish, but you can't post crit on the list? I've never seen a worse case of brown nosing in fandom before (maybe I'm just innocent and haven't seen all the bad stuff...) I have to admit I haven't read the fic in question, just like I haven't read the last god knows how many that Biblio's posted. I just don't care that much for her writings anymore -- might be because she's stuck with seasons 1-3 and as much as those seasons had some damned good eps that spawned fic-bunnies near and far, that's it. At some point you have to move on. I think that's why I stopped reading her stuff
Still, I'm surprised that you can't post your opinion, be it good or bad. Sure, maybe the girl in question should have elaborated a little more on what she meant, but to me it was clear as day, it might not have been 115% constructive, but if I'd gotten fb like that I'd have sat down and thought long and hard about it and maybe try to see if the girl didn't have a point.
What I really didn't like, was the number of people 'beating' her down. Jeez people, get a bloody life -- there's more to life than fandom. Take fb as it comes, good as bad -- analyse it, see if they're right and then MAYBE it's time you get your head out of your *** and develop your writing before it goes stale. I know I listen to good as well as bad fb (unless it's that time of the month, in which case I'm excused ^_~)

no subject
For some people fandom IS their life. Which really is sad. How can you write well if you never go outside your house?
no subject
::sighs::
no subject
Personally I think if you have the balls to put your fic out there for the masses you should have the balls to realize people may not like it and they may be REALLY mean to you because of it.
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
no subject
"Pearls" is set around a couple of Season Five episodes, is darker than your average Biblio fic and features the most team dynamic of any first time story I've ever read. I think she's starting to move on a bit from the post-Meridian slump.
no subject
no subject
I object to her lines about wanting 'negative' fb offlist -- that's just pure bull.
Oh, abolutely -- it's total bull. She doesn't want constructive crit of any sort. I have a very clear email from her that says so. *g*
(no subject)
(no subject)
no subject
After having my own brush with fb, both neg and good, and more neg, I had to do some soul searching about it and realized a lot of what you said as the truth.
no subject
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
no subject
no subject
::hugs::
PS. Biblio ASKED for fb. Whined about it being a zine story she'd never gotten any fb for. I think that's what raised my hackles. If you ask for it, take what comes your way.
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
no subject
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
no subject
Sure, the girl's feedback was blunt and maybe she could have decided to send the LOC off-list like some people would have, but her fb wasn't a flame, nor was it aggressive or anything, she just gave Biblio's the answer she's asked for. She certainly can't be accused of beling hypocritical, she was just being honest - and she even admitted to usually being a fan of Biblio's work, so it's apparently not even as if the reader was a member of the rabid-anti-Biblio gang we hear so much about. Who annoy me as well, but that's another story lol And I'm not even one of her fans, so I can't be accused of being biased here *g*
no subject
I think this is just one thing in a long line that annoys me about the fandom. Maybe it's just too big for me. I'm feeling good at the moment with Sentinel and Due South, both not as active fandoms as SG.
(no subject)
(no subject)
no subject
I found slash through Biblios early fic. I will always love those beautiful, romantic, well crafted fic. I will still read them, and probably get round to reading any of her other fics too. Becuase despite that fact that I dont really like her that much as an individual, I still think she is a great writer.
But I cant be bothered with all the wank, brown-nosing and whining that goes on. I say fuck it - lets just lock outselves in a big room with Jack, Daniel, Blair, Jim, Ray, and Benton, a family pack of condoms and a giant tube of astroglide. oh yeah -- works for me!
no subject
LOL
I nearly blew a gasket.
::picks herself off the floor::
Yeah, I used to love reading Biblio's stories, but now that I've read so much other stuff, I never re-read fic because in 80% of them, I'll be disappointed because they're not as good as i recall them.
(no subject)
(no subject)
no subject
no subject
That's one reason for staying. Won't ever get cold with all the flames LOL
no subject
I hear no! see no wank! I put my lists on 'no mail' before xmas, and just never bothered chnging it back!
life is sooo much sweeter *-))
::loves LJ:: <3
no subject
no subject
::Hugs LJ and flist!::
no subject
That is true -- I'm only sticking around because... um... okay, you got me there, I don't know why LOL
no subject
Exactly!! *huggles*
IMHO a write should be able to read FB and ignore it if they want to. ;))
no subject
no subject
I also hate reading other people's feedback on other people's fic so anything with the FB in the subject line goes straight in the trash - sometimes there aren't many emails to skim through after the quite satisfying delete button.
no subject
I just think I'd hoped people were too old to behave the way they did, but alas, I have too much faith in mankind ^_~
(guess that means we may as well turn over world domination to the cats)