ximeria: (Default)
ximeria ([personal profile] ximeria) wrote2005-03-25 07:49 pm

Thoughts on this and that...

I was talking to Nicci earlier about the feedback she had gotten on her manips, or rather, someone who was going to skip reading her stories because of the manips Nicci puts into the stories sometimes. Of course it's up to the girl who wrote whether or not she wants to read the stories, but it got me thinking. Ever gotten a piece of fb that puzzled you? That saddened you?

I think one of those that made me smile, that I got, was fb for 'felt' which was a Wolverine/Nightcrawler fic (comic-universe). s/he wrote to tell me that s/he found it disgusting that I would write of sex between two men of whom one was a priest (Nightcrawler). Um... ::shrugs:: I wasn't sure how to take that fb. I mean, it didn't hurt me in any way, but if you sit down and READ a story, that's labelled NC17, Logan/Kurt (Wolverine/Nightcrawler), then how come you READ it and then send this type of fb? Well, in any case, it's a long time ago and it gave me a good giggle ^_~ -- I rarely get this type of fb -- probably because I'm pretty much a 'middle of the road' writer -- I don't write about stuff that gets people out of their chairs.

Still, our conversation made me think of the x-men fic and that in turn made me wonder if that back then might have been what sparked some of the idea for Convergence. I mean, I dragged poor Joshua, who was a priest, through hell (nearly literally), I had the church screwing up his childhood/teens and to top it all off, I dropped a horny fiend in his lap... quite literally as well *eg*

Then again, maybe that's just a sign of ordinary madness ^_~

On another note, I'm thinking about changing my LJ layout -- either to match my website or maybe a nifty dueSouth look ::hmmmmm::

We'll see, maybe I can con Nicci into doing me a background or something *eg*
ext_16871: (DS-almost)

[identity profile] nicci-mac.livejournal.com 2005-03-25 07:05 pm (UTC)(link)
Yes, that puzzles the hell our of me too. How can someone read a whole fic, just to send you fb saying that didnt like it. If I dont like a fic, I stop reading it and move on. Unless the writer is asking me personally to comment, like if I'm doing an alpha or something. ::shrugs::

Anyhoo - layout. YAY! Of course I'll help with a background - just let me know what you want.
ext_31419: (Default)

[identity profile] ximeria.livejournal.com 2005-03-25 08:18 pm (UTC)(link)
::grins::
Well, anything would do, really -- maybe a banner in 600X157? hehehe pref DS...
Or a background? Wallpaper? um... Something not terribly graphic, but erotic would be okay ^_^ -- any ideas? I'd just need the graphics to be at the side of the screen instead of the middle, figure the layout will be something like the entries to the left side of the screen and the background could be to the right.

[identity profile] maryavatar.livejournal.com 2005-03-25 07:21 pm (UTC)(link)
I get the weirdest FB. I seem to get a lot of it too, mainly because I'm active in so many fandoms, and I've written a heck of a lot. I get the nice stuff (I love story X), I get the cracked stuff (u r g8), the flames (SPIKE IS NOT GAY TAKE THAT FILTH OFF THE INTERNET), the clueless stuff ( I like your story, but why did you make Harper and Tyr gay?), the leechers (I read your story, can you link me to the websites of the following authors: authors A, B, C, D, etc).

The only FB that upset me was on a mailing list. I'd posted a harmless bit of rampant shagging, and another list member replied with a detailed critique, basically panning what I'd written as an ATG fic. Which it was, of course, but I was still fairly new to writing, and having one of my babies ripped to shreds in public was not fun. Of course, while I was away licking my wounds, the rest of the mailing list rose up in my defense and chopped her to bits.

The ironic part is... now that I'm a more experienced writer, I agree with everything she wrote. I feel like I should write to her and thank her for the advice, but I don't know how she'd take it. Although I didn't flame her, she took a huge battering, and hasn't written in the fandom since.
ext_31419: (ass)

[identity profile] ximeria.livejournal.com 2005-03-25 08:23 pm (UTC)(link)
Oh yeah, sure, I've had bad fb as well, or rather, fb that was actually constructive crit -- but it's no fun getting that when you're a newbie LOL -- these days I try to take things for what they are and if I figure the constructive crit is actually that, I'll keep the suggestions in mind when I write again. -- and yes, poor girl -- such things are better kept off-list -- and I'm not saying that because I'd be crushed to have my stories taken apart on-list, but because I know other's might react to it rather violently -- me? I write for me, for my own entertainment, so whatever people say, they can say, I don't mind.

[identity profile] skater-g8r.livejournal.com 2005-03-25 07:25 pm (UTC)(link)
yes! i've had FB that said my stuff was wrong and bad! it upset me at the time! becuase i just started putting my manips out there! so was unsure how it would be received! but if I got negative FB now(excluding constructive obviously), i would just ignore it! they are obviously not on the same wavelenght as me. so I see no point in trying to defend myself!
ext_31419: (love)

[identity profile] ximeria.livejournal.com 2005-03-25 08:32 pm (UTC)(link)
Uh-huh. Yeah, thankfully I didn't get much crit back when I started -- I had a couple of really good betas, so that of course helped beyond words. Because those betas were hard on me during the writing, I can take crit now a days -- well, except from during 5 days/month LOL -- it's one of the things that saddens me when I search for betas in new fandoms, that I have to assure new betas that I can take the rough treatment, that I actually prefer it -- I'd rather change a fic during the editing, than noticing errors myself AFTER it's posted LOL
ext_8600: (aiden puhleese)

[identity profile] reedfem.livejournal.com 2005-03-25 07:26 pm (UTC)(link)
That's odd. They'll read her stories (hotyumdrool) but are what, offended by the manips? Please cover their virgin eyes. Puhleeeese.

More Nicci manips? Where?

ext_31419: (Default)

[identity profile] ximeria.livejournal.com 2005-03-25 07:55 pm (UTC)(link)
::laughs::
thankfully I haven't heard one word against the bunch of Due South manips of hers that I've used in the last one I wrote -- then again, the part of the fandom that I post in is strictly Fraser/Kowalski, so I can't really go wrong and neither can Nicci -- jeez, you should've seen the fb she got for the manips she posted to the DS noticeboard LOL -- they absolutely adore her *g* -- makes me feel less bad about dragging her into a new fandom ^_~

[identity profile] sufferinangel.livejournal.com 2005-03-26 11:37 pm (UTC)(link)
I cant relate to the interesting feedback unfortunetly enough because I've never been able to finish any kind of fanfic but I figured I would come by and give you some good fb. I think you are an amazing write and I look forward to your jack/dan slash all the time. I love your website and all of the reccomendations I have looked at so far. Oh yeah by the way... hi im sufferinangel.
ext_31419: (touchies!!)

[identity profile] ximeria.livejournal.com 2005-03-28 06:09 am (UTC)(link)
*^_^*
Thank you very much. Flatter will get you anywhere ^_~ -- don't worry, if you finish a story and post, odds are in favour that you won't get bad feedback -- I haven't come across much in odd or bad feedback on the SG fandom -- in other fandoms however... *g*

It's really always a matter of what kind of people chance throws your way ^_^

And hi, welcome aboard ^_^