ximeria: (Default)
ximeria ([personal profile] ximeria) wrote2006-06-28 10:27 pm
Entry tags:

Anime madness



I've been watching a little anime lately *g* (try 70 episodes of Card Captor Sakura)
And mind you, it's the Japanese version, not the mangled American one. (What's UP with that anyway? Macross got mangled into Robotech and Sakura into Card captors?)



A quick run-through of the characters:


Sakura
is a fourth grader when it all starts. She scatters a deck of very powerful cards and has to seek them all -- fighting them to control them and collect the entire deck again. It means doing so without her father and brother finding out.


Tomoyo
is her best friend, who has a crush on Sakura. Added to that is a huge amount of hero worship. She wants nothing more than to catch every moment of Sakura's life on camera. She also tags along when Sakura goes card hunting. She makes Sakura a new costume every time and as much as Sakura would prefer to just get things done, she can't say no to Tomoyo's request for her to wear the costumes.


Syaoran
is a descendant of Clow Reed, who created the cards. He may be young but he's pretty powerful. When he first comes to town, he's a bit of a bastard, especially toward Sakura, because they ARE rivals in everything. He is supposed to gather the cards as well. That and well... Sakura has a crush on Yukito.... as does Syaoran *g* -- Eventually they end up working together, they become friends, and although Syaoran fights it, he falls in love with Sakura.


Kero/Kerberos
is the Beast of the Seal -- the seal that was keeping the book with the cards closed... well, he kinda fell asleep *g* and Sakura happened along. He mostly appears as a plush toy, but when Sakura has some specific cards, she will be able to turn him into his original form. Which he keeps babbling about. He's also terribly obsessed with sweets, cakes... well, FOOD!

Kero is also the one who is to select the new master of the cards, and bring her/him before the judge (Yue)


Touya
is Sakura's older brother (5 years her senior) who teases her constantly, but will fiercely protect her from anything. He has, like Sakura, magical abilities. He can see/sense ghosts and power -- meaning hiding from him is a real pain in the ass *g*


Yukito
(later: Yue) is Touya's friend. Neither boy has any interest in girl friends, and it's rather easy from the start to interpret their friendship as being more than just that *g* -- As the show progresses and Yukito admits that the person he cares for the most is Touya, you'd have to be bloody blind to NOT see it. Besides, they're so damned touchy feely LOL -- At first glance they are a typical yaoi pairing. Dom/Sub -- yet, when you get into it, they're both perfectly capable of holding their own -- They're fiercely protective of each other and of Sakura.

There is a specific scene that I kept waiting for, and I wasn't let down when it finally happened. Yukito doesn't know he's Yue, and Yue is slowly fading away. He's supposed to feed off his master's magic, but seeing as this is Sakura and she's not strong enough yet, he's slowly fading away. Something Sakura doesn't know about.


Yue/Yukito can survive if he receives magic and it's pretty clear from the moment we learn this, that there's the possibility that he can use Touya's magic. He just can't ask, because Yukito doesn't know what's going on. Yukito doesn't know about Yue. There is a point where it all seems to be too late, especially since another being, a girl, who is like Yue keeps interrupting, because she wants Touya's power for her own.

Touya finally has enough of her constant interruptions, locks himself in the room where Yukito is resting on the bed and sits down to have a talk with him. (this is said, while cupping Yukito's cheek... *sniggers*)

Touya: "I know that you're not human. That's why you don't have to hide it from me."


At which point Yukito changes into Yue. And Touya doesn't even blink.


Yue explains that Yukito didn't want Touya to know, so he couldn't change for Touya to see him.

Touya: "If I don't see you, I can't give you what I want to give you."

Yue: "You've been telling Yukito, "I don't want you to disappear'."

Touya: "Yeah."

Yue: "You know what needs to be done for that?"

Touya: "I know." (said in a very calm voice and a soft smile) "If I can use my power to prevent Yuki from disappearing, I'll give it all to him."

Yue: "You won't be able to see your mother again, either." (referring to Touya's ability to see ghosts -- including his and Sakura's mother)

Touya: "It's unfair that I'm the only one who can see mother. But... if I lose my powers I wont be able to tell when Sakura ends up in a dangerous situation anymore. So I want you to protect her."

Yue: "You don't even have to make me promise. I'll protect my master even if it means giving up this body."


Touya: (Stands quickly, tone of voice urgent) "I'd be troubled if you give it up. If you disappear, Yuki will disappear as well! I want you to protect Sakura and also protect yourself."

Yue: "Is that your condition for handing over your magical powers?"

Touya: (smiles again) "You could say that."

Yue: "I'll do my best."

Touya: (smiles with relief and happiness) "You and Yuki really are alike."



Yue and Touya stand close, cheek to cheek, while the magic is transferred.




My initial response was: Jeez, why don't you just have sex right there!? I mean, the transfer of magic has energy flowing around them, no matter how you read the symbolism it's kinda hard not to compare it to a round of sex *g* -- Touya passes out afterwards and Yue puts him gently to bed.


Even the episodes after this, Touya and Yukito have an easiness around each other, and although Yukito worries about having taken all Touya's magic, Touya consoles him, lets him know that he'd gladly give up everything for him. -- It's taken time for Yue to accept it as well, because he still loves his creator, Clow, who passed away years back. It's kinda hard to ignore that Yue has a male appearance -- as a creature of magic, he's basically gender-less, but still... he's definitely a guy *g*

So yeah, I've been absolutely loving this - I re-watched DNAngel a little while back, which has a bit of m/m as well -- I kinda prefer the more subtle pairings *g* -- habit of a slasher I guess ^_~ -- with CCS there's also all the little sub-plots and the full gallery of characters -- there are so many that it gets hard to keep track of LOL

[identity profile] hoskie.livejournal.com 2006-06-28 08:51 pm (UTC)(link)
I love CCS! ... and I'm not afraid to admit that. :P

I haven't seen that many episodes (only about five or six), but I read the entire 12-volume manga series. CLAMP are gods. :)
ext_31419: (Default)

[identity profile] ximeria.livejournal.com 2006-06-29 11:17 pm (UTC)(link)
Hehehe, oh yeah -- I've been enjoying this so much -- although it took a while to download 70 eps and two movies LOL

We need some icons saying: Proud CSS fan *g*

[identity profile] hoskie.livejournal.com 2006-07-04 01:20 am (UTC)(link)
Where did you download the episodes from? I'd love to be able to see more (the Region 1 DVDs are expensive!).

... and if I remember later... I will make some icons. ;)
ext_31419: (CCS - yuki/touya sleepover)

[identity profile] ximeria.livejournal.com 2006-07-08 06:18 pm (UTC)(link)
Hmmm I used a torrent download, but it took ages. I'm probably going to upload the eps, maybe in zipped packages of two or four.

ep 1:
http://d01.megashares.com/?d01=a2a88a3

[identity profile] seikaitsukimizu.livejournal.com 2006-06-28 09:11 pm (UTC)(link)
I LOVE Touya/Yuki! There's a reason. *points* Best episode EVER! And I love how, in the next one (or two) Yuki admits to Sakura that the one he loves (well, the one for him, but same thing) is Touya. So cute. *sigh* One of my favorite couples. And the subtle (or not so subtle) courting is adorable. In the manga, it's less subtle, and I think they DO admit their feelings (not love, but really like). I'd have to go back and reread...

Re: Yukito not knowing about Yue...after this episode, he knows. It's stated in later episodes, and also in the movie: The Sealed Card (you have to see that, it's the wrap-up to the series).

*sighs* Love Touya/Yuki...and love just Yue alone. *nods* Yes, I am glad you have been sucked into this pairing. Now you'll write fic for it, ne! ^-^ Onegai?

...have to get Touya/Yuki icon. Pronto.
ext_31419: (MISCH - convergence)

[identity profile] ximeria.livejournal.com 2006-06-29 11:22 pm (UTC)(link)
*laughs and hides notes done at work on fanfic*

Re: Yukito not knowing about Yue...after this episode, he knows. It's stated in later episodes, and also in the movie: The Sealed Card (you have to see that, it's the wrap-up to the series).

Yeah, I know that he knows afterwards -- as for the movie, yeah I know -- I'm currently downloading but it's sloooooooooooow *g*

And yes, they are so damned adorable LOL

[identity profile] emachi.livejournal.com 2006-06-28 09:17 pm (UTC)(link)
Oh, I haven't seen CCS for AGES, but I recorded all the episodes when they were on tv :D I was all for Syaoran/Eriol *G* and even Syaoran/Sakura when the bloody american versions edited it out *pouts* I'm still waiting to see the second movie, but the proper dubbed japanese one, not the american one.
ext_31419: (MISCH - convergence)

[identity profile] ximeria.livejournal.com 2006-06-29 11:23 pm (UTC)(link)
Uh-huh -- I was very careful as to which version I was downloading -- and yes, I find Syaoran/Sakura adorable as a pairing LOL -- I love how he just starts to stutter, goes red and gets absolutely flustered even is she just says 'arigato' LOL -- poor kid.

I'm currently downloading the movie, but it's so sloooow

[identity profile] emachi.livejournal.com 2006-06-29 11:26 pm (UTC)(link)
Oh! I never thought of downloading it *fires up limewire* XD Syaoran is my favourite character in it all :) he's just utterly adorable
ext_31419: (Default)

[identity profile] ximeria.livejournal.com 2006-07-04 06:23 am (UTC)(link)
Hehehe, if it doesn't work, I can share what I have somehow. Via AIM if you want, when the movie finishes downloading -- it's stalling at 92% *sighs*

[identity profile] emachi.livejournal.com 2006-07-04 12:00 pm (UTC)(link)
meh! Yes please then :D I haven't had any luck in finding it anywhere. My aim is Heath puppy, will be on around 10pm GMT (5pm EST)

[identity profile] castalie.livejournal.com 2006-06-28 11:46 pm (UTC)(link)
CCS is brilliant, isn't it? Like you I'd been impatiently waiting for Teh Scene to happen and I was so not disappointed!

Also, I don't remember, did you ever watch X by CLAMP too? Cause it's full of subtle m/m too. Or not so subtle but still :-)
ext_31419: (MISCH - convergence)

[identity profile] ximeria.livejournal.com 2006-06-29 11:25 pm (UTC)(link)
heheh nope, didn't know about X -- I'm going to try and find it, though. I've mostly avoided anime, because I know I get sucked in LOL but this one really did grab me. And yes, that scene was so beautiful -- won't see such stuff in american shows LOL - kinda felt like 'fuck-or-die' scenario there for a while *sniggers*

[identity profile] leviathanmuse.livejournal.com 2006-06-29 12:39 am (UTC)(link)
Of course, there's the real classic of American fuck-up versions of shows "Battle of the Planets" which eviscerated "Gatchaman".
ext_31419: (MISCH - convergence)

[identity profile] ximeria.livejournal.com 2006-06-29 11:26 pm (UTC)(link)
Uh-huh -- and don't get me started on Hollywood's ability to screw up movies (mumbles: Taxi and La Femme Nikita just to name two...)

[identity profile] leviathanmuse.livejournal.com 2006-06-30 12:09 am (UTC)(link)
True enough. Don't mention "City of Angels"...

[identity profile] kikotei.livejournal.com 2006-06-29 01:29 am (UTC)(link)
::blissed out sigh:: One of my favorite moments in CCS. I spent several days rewatching that scene when I got the DVDs.

I think I may have to go rewatch it. ^_^;;;
ext_31419: (MISCH - convergence)

[identity profile] ximeria.livejournal.com 2006-06-29 11:27 pm (UTC)(link)
Heheheh, well, I've been re-watching and um... re-watching *giggles*

[identity profile] tallisen.livejournal.com 2006-06-29 05:04 pm (UTC)(link)
OMG I love that scene!!!! *flails* Toooouyaaaaaaa!!! Yuuuuuukiiiitoooooo!! *fangirls like WOAH*
ext_31419: (MISCH - convergence)

[identity profile] ximeria.livejournal.com 2006-06-29 11:27 pm (UTC)(link)
*fangirls with you*