Entry tags:
It creeps me out
I think
riverfox was the first one to make a post that I noticed and I went and had a looksee. Seriously, I'm thoroughly creeped out by FanLib. Is it because I was 'brought' up with the old fashioned fanfic ways?
Whenever I try to sit down and understand the FanLib idea, I get a little freaked. When I sit down and try to imagine what it might do to fandom as a whole...?
I'm so very, very scared. Worst case scenario? Fanfic will disappear from the net or at least be next to impossible to find unless you know someone, who knows someone.
Likely scenario? We'll end up having to hide our sites and pass-word protect the whole lot of it -- paranoia shall rule the fanfic scene.
I'm not feeling good about this, I really am not. I mean, for years we've put into our stories that it's a non-profit thing. I think I'll go back to putting that into the header and doing so with larger types to make sure everyone knows. Besides, I hate the idea of making money off fanfic.
Whenever I try to sit down and understand the FanLib idea, I get a little freaked. When I sit down and try to imagine what it might do to fandom as a whole...?
I'm so very, very scared. Worst case scenario? Fanfic will disappear from the net or at least be next to impossible to find unless you know someone, who knows someone.
Likely scenario? We'll end up having to hide our sites and pass-word protect the whole lot of it -- paranoia shall rule the fanfic scene.
I'm not feeling good about this, I really am not. I mean, for years we've put into our stories that it's a non-profit thing. I think I'll go back to putting that into the header and doing so with larger types to make sure everyone knows. Besides, I hate the idea of making money off fanfic.

no subject
no subject
here's a bit about fanlib (http://icarusancalion.livejournal.com/626928.html)
Imagine this bringing fanfic to the attention of the big coorperations -- if you think the number of cease and desist letters is high now, imagine what might happen with FanLib around.
no subject
I'm positive about the conversation Astolat has started - and Henry Jenkins has been positive about it too - so no I don't think we're heading deep into cyber-trenches.
no subject
Maybe that's just me. I remember some of the horror stories from fandom, like the great tripod masacre.
no subject
Maybe that's just me. I remember some of the horror stories from fandom, like the great tripod masacre.
It's not just you. It wasn't just tripod, remember when Yahoo went after fanfic? And in the early days when C&D letters were served in XF fandom they were vicious.
What it has taught me - lurking for a decade - is that fandom is a glorious, individual weed. If they whack us, well sprout elsewhere. But god damn them if they make us run. Or flock en-masse.
no subject
I like your description of fandom as being weed *g* -- yeah, I guess apart from being annoyed, I actually watch it like a train wreck. The people behind FanLib whine that fandom is being mean to them, but if they are to play in our sandbox, they should expect to get some sand into incomfortable places.
no subject
and are made to look ridiculous and unprofessional on the interwebs *grin* they're going down, and more's the pity they won't even enjoy the experience. *grin*
no subject
no subject
And even if TPTB decide they don't mind, the author should be the one making the money.
no subject
It's true that what annoys me a lot about this is the fact that these are people who have no idea what they're messing with.
no subject
We vote by our non-participation. And I vote for them to get the hell out of my sandbox.