ximeria: (Default)
ximeria ([personal profile] ximeria) wrote2008-02-14 11:47 pm
Entry tags:

TW - double pack

Eh... Um... Right, here goes - Wednesday's double feature. You know, when my internet finally came back on XD




Adam:

Um... seriously? Mediocre episode with some damned good scenes here and there, unfortunately not enough to lift the episode overall.

Dislikes:
Is it me, or was it terribly cheesy? It really wasn't all that interesting, although it could have been.

If we were truly showed some of Jack's childhood... I don't know, I would have expected more than this fairly crap writing -- and I love John, I do, but with the scenes being so cheesy, he really overdid it -- I'm not sure it COULD have been done differently LOL -- well, only if it'd been written differently.

There were a ton of small things that went against me, but the idea I liked, even if I thought some of the scenes were written worse than half the TW fanfic I've read... and that's saying something.

Likes:
There are scenes in this one that just hit me -- like Ianto being forced to remember murdering women and liking it -- how much pain that caused him, how much distress -- how much he wanted to believe Jack when he said that he didn't believe it, even after the lie detector thing.

The emotionally overdone scene at the table with the team -- although hearing things from them like that, it was pretty cool, Jack walking around behind them like that, talking and blabbering about emotions and being who they were etc... just a bit too much -- although, me being the Jack/Ianto shipper that I am, that kiss on Ianto's forehead? *sighs* coupled with Ianto seemingly realizing that Jack's what got him through his trauma from Lisa's death. Let's just say that was my happy place.

So overall verdict? The characters were OOC, but that could be due to Adam fucking around with their heads -- I'm actually sure it was intended that way. So I can go with that. But it was a tad bit too cheesy for my taste - not that TW can't be that or pull it off well, but it's normally balanced a lot better than in this one. I needed something to soak up the cheesy bits and I'd have preferered, if indeed those were Jack's memories we were seeing, and not something Adam twisted in there or something entirely different -- you know, someone else, like the Agency, could have planted false memories in his head -- and they might have mixed with actual memories of Grey... see, that's where my brain takes it on a whim -- I hope to hell that the writers on the show are even more inventive *eg* -- if not? That's what we have fanfic for LOL

Do I have to mention Ianto keeping a diary? Do I have to mention how much like badfic it is Jack finding it? And to think that was one of the few things I thought they did really WELL in this ep? *laughs* Oh, I love Gareth's ability to roll his eyes and the way he mouths 'fuck'? So, last series we had the stopwatch, this series we have a measuring tape?

I'm not going to comment on the single character things that I liked -- though it was fun seeing the characters acting very much differently from the norm.

Reset:

THANK YOU EVERYONE!!

*laughs*

If Adam was dreadfully dull and cheesy, then THIS was what I've come to expect from TW. What a ride.

Dislikes? I can't think of that many, since I was completely focused on all the good stuff!

Martha! And how she gets along with them all *g* I'd hoped for that ^_____^ <--- Wide fangirl grin (henceforth known as WFG)

I liked how Martha wanted to know if any of them were shagging Jack -- come on! I get the feeling that Jack might've hinted he was in some sort of relationship with one of his team, because Martha went at it as if she knew he was doing one of his team -- and instead of asking him -- she goes for the team itself, keeping her eyes open. Then again? Jack asking for a baret and uniform and mentioning it would look good on Ianto? Jack, Jack, Jack... *laughs*

And just when I thought he was being a bit obvious about it, we get the scene between Ianto and Martha... WFG again. First, he throws all this information at her, she takes it, she's intelligent, she doesn't waste their time during the briefing... but afterwards? She just HAS to know if Ianto IS with Jack... and yes, they dabble... dabble... *laughs* -- right, from now on it's not fucking, it's not having sex or shagging, but dabling.... *nods happily*

I think I'll have to rewatch to come up with something coherent -- It might just be the letdown I felt about 'Adam' that made this so very much better, but there's a large part of this episode, that just works.

And just when I thought I'd gotten used to Owen... they shoot him *grins* -- through coupled with the previews and no one bloody staying dead when they should? We'll see. I didn't like Owen in the first series, but he's sort of growing on me -- and there has to be characters on the team you like less/dislike because that's what real life is like -- some people you like, some you don't.

Oh... and um... Ianto with a Weevil on a leash? I know a few will voice that 'oh, but that's not fair to pull it out and then force it back into the cell, using spray etc...' Oh come on, I'm still sticking to the fact that Ianto's fucking hot with a Weevil on a leash. I now need an icon that with Ianto saying something along the lines of 'I've got a weevil and I'm not afraid to use it'

So yeah, here I am, happy that with a mediocre episode like Adam, they managed to lift the whole thing by giving us Reset...


So, until next week, boys and girls, I'll be dreaming of sexy Welsh tea-boys and dashing Captains doing roleplay. So, do you guys think that Jack wants Ianto in a uniform so Jack can order him around as the Captain, or do you, like me, think Jack wants to be a private and be ordered around by Ianto in a uniform? *grins widely*

[identity profile] drkcherry.livejournal.com 2008-02-14 10:52 pm (UTC)(link)
I have Adam downloaded (thanks), and I need to download Reset.

But after reading your review and seeing the previews, I'm not sure I want to watch Adam.
ext_31419: (Default)

[identity profile] ximeria.livejournal.com 2008-02-15 07:12 am (UTC)(link)
Well, Adam wasn't all bad you know, just... I don't think it'll be one of those eps I'll be pulling out and rewatching all that often. There are little things that are good about it and makes it worth one viewing at least.

[identity profile] drkcherry.livejournal.com 2008-02-16 03:22 am (UTC)(link)
I watched Adam. I didn't like it, not because of the acting, but because of the subject matter...maybe that means I did like it because it grossed me out so much.

He not only physically raped Tosh, he mentally raped the others.

And damnit, we still didn't hear Jack's real name.
ext_16871: (Default)

[identity profile] nicci-mac.livejournal.com 2008-02-14 11:02 pm (UTC)(link)
I think Jack as a thing for guys in uniform, and he wants to be ordered around by Ianto. Heheh! Then he wants Ianto to dabble with him wearing nothing but the red beret and a grin
ext_31419: (TW - Ianto oh f***)

[identity profile] ximeria.livejournal.com 2008-02-15 07:12 am (UTC)(link)
Hehehehe, are you fishing for something?

[identity profile] bugchicklv.livejournal.com 2008-02-15 01:45 am (UTC)(link)
OMG! Ianto with the Weevil was SO MADE OF WIN. My little fangirl heart just flopped over and died at how sexy he looked. rowr.

Also, during all of Adam I kept having this flashback to the SG-1 ep "Fifth Man." It was practically the same thing...

And Jack SO wants Ianto in uniform so that he can be dominated. (hee! tape measures never lie.)

(PS. Someone NEEDS to write "Ianto Jones' Diary." Like Dr. Jackson's. Yes.)
ext_31419: (Default)

[identity profile] ximeria.livejournal.com 2008-02-15 05:49 pm (UTC)(link)
Oh dear god, please don't mention the diaries XD -- I can just imagine someone taking on doing that for TW... the potential crack... wow XD

[identity profile] bugchicklv.livejournal.com 2008-02-15 07:45 pm (UTC)(link)
OMFG:

SOMEONE STARTED IT!!!!! (http://users.livejournal.com/sulla_/281478.html)
ext_31419: (Default)

[identity profile] ximeria.livejournal.com 2008-02-15 07:51 pm (UTC)(link)
I know, I just saw XD
nialla: (Torchwood - Ianto Knows Everything)

[personal profile] nialla 2008-02-15 03:50 am (UTC)(link)
"Adam" is one of those standard sci fi plots, but the setup does allow for some character exploration, so it can have good moments.

Ianto' anguish and Jack's unwavering belief in him made me wibble. A lot.

One odd thing I also liked was having Rhys interacting with Jack and the team, fully in the know. Gwen totally doesn't deserve him, but it's fun watching him interact with the rest.

But Rhys gives me a plot hole moment. While it doesn't appear than Adam tampered with Rhys' memory, Rhys did meet him. Even if he doesn't think to as about him specifically, wouldn't Rhys ask Gwen about her amnesia that was specific to him, but now includes everything that happened for 48 hours? Shouldn't Rhys have gotten a dose of retcon as well, or else he could fill them in on some of what happened.

Oh, I love Gareth's ability to roll his eyes and the way he mouths 'fuck'? So, last series we had the stopwatch, this series we have a measuring tape?

He does great facial reactions, and that one just about did me in. You could just feel Ianto thought he'd dodged the bullet and Jack hadn't read anything in the diary. Knowing Ianto's luck, Jack's probably a speed reader. I want an icon with Ianto reading the diary with some text about reading fanfic or The Gay Kama Sutra. *g*

I think Martha is a Jack fangirl. ;) I had issues with Martha's crush on the Doctor because it kept being brough up in every single episode and I felt it undermined the character, but it does seem like she's moved on. She and Jack had a little bonding moment over their shared fanboying/girling of the Doctor, but she didn't seem to be pining anymore.

I also liked that she mentioned having a boyfriend now and a job with UNIT that will give her more purpose in life than just being a "regular" doctor. I also liked the attempt at reconciling UNIT as the sort of "public secret face" of the government dealing with aliens and the like, but there's still a niggle of why UNIT worked with the Doctor for ages and Torchwood never stepped in.

I didn't like Owen at all in the first season, but I've been enjoying him this time around. He's still essentially the same character at heart, but he, like Martha, is finally serving his purpose of being a doctor. And Burn just gave me the giggles with his turn as dork!Owen.
ext_31419: (Default)

[identity profile] ximeria.livejournal.com 2008-02-15 05:51 pm (UTC)(link)
Yeah, there were ups and downs of both episodes. I for one still love Martha, nearly as much as I loved Rose, even if the unrequited love thing with the Doctor was a bit much at times in S3.