ximeria: (Default)
ximeria ([personal profile] ximeria) wrote2008-02-21 08:08 am
Entry tags:

First impression TW - Dead Man Walking



Overall? Creepy LOL -- tons of weevils and one dead, but walking Owen Harper. This did at the beginning, when Owen came back, remind me in a flash of a zombie fic, where Ianto was theoretically dead, but still there. Fab crackfic btw XD

Likes and likes

It's sort of hard for me to do this after just one viewing. Will have to review when I get home from work tonight. But, well, Owen's back *g* one way or another. I like the theme of it, of bringing back something you shouldn't and the repercussions therefrom.

And giving us a possible background on the legend of Death? Intriguing idea. Grim Reaper indeed. *refrains from making Eddie Izzard joke*

Overall the feel of the episode was dark and creepy, but I like the resurrection idea, death fascinates us, scares us, makes mankind search for ways to put it off, keep it back and cheat it. I know some will find this disturbing, I know some will consider it blasphemy (though it escapes me whom, at least on my own f-list)

I liked the weevils and how they reacted, although the early part, where Jack entered the church? I had the worst flashback ever to both 28 days later and Resident Evil 2 *shakes head*

Oh Jack... He really should know better, shouldn't he? I mean, bringing anyone back from the dead... It can only end in tears.

Right, I'm off to work, figure I'll re-watch tonight and give myself time to digest the episode. If I were to place it, among the previous eps of S2? It's not as good as Kiss Kiss Bang Bang, or To the Last Man or for that matter, Reset, but it was nowhere near as bad as Adam. It lacked the amount of Jack/Ianto moments that Adam had, but let's face it. This is TW, not the Jack/Ianto show LOL

[identity profile] purpig21.livejournal.com 2008-02-21 07:41 am (UTC)(link)
NOT the Jack/Ianto show? But..but...LOL

I loved this ep. was an interesting show.

Ianto had one of the best scenes though with his little yelp squeal when Martha popped up behind him. cracked me up.
ext_31419: (TW - Ianto Jones)

[identity profile] ximeria.livejournal.com 2008-02-22 10:31 pm (UTC)(link)
Hehehe, I'd love the Jack/Ianto show, but I sort of prefer the way it's done, with little intimate scenes, looks and heavy hints at sex being had *g*

I have to admit I'm liking it more with the second viewing. I really love how Death is portraid, although my favorite version will always be Terry Pratchett's LOL

Heh, and that scene? God, I was giggling insanely, not just because Martha was okay, but let's face it, Ianto's reaction was believable and more than a little cute *g*

[identity profile] wadjet-theperv.livejournal.com 2008-02-21 09:11 am (UTC)(link)
It so is! LOL

I had real problems with this, mostly because of the whole *death* thing, which freaks me out severely since I've had so much of it in RL. Having lost three people in a short period of time, I sometimes wonder about what comes after and RTD's vision isn't very comforting!

I just still don't like Owen :o( I wish I could, because it's undoubtedly stopping me from enjoying the show on a certain level. I think he put me off too much in the first season because of the way he treated other people (especially Tosh) and he's done practically nothing to redeem himself (to me) since then. I think I've said this before, but it's at the same point as I'm at with Willem Dafoe, where I can't physically watch him. Ask Cats about the Bridges boys, she understands *g*

On the positive side though, I was watching some of it through my fingers, just like DW in the old days LOL

Why is it that Gwen has to lust after everyone except Rhys? I know she called him, all upset, obviously feeling grateful that she still had him, but even so, the girl is being written as a slapper :o(

Loved Martha startling Ianto. Can't wait for a proper Ianto episode. Slaps JB for being so far over the top when he was using the Resurrection Glove and LOL when it turned into Thing from the Addams Family. That was hilarious but I don't think it was meant to be.

On the whole, I don't think I'll be watching it again and I still haven't made up my mind whether to watch next week's or not. I know he's not dead *at the moment* but I'm getting to be past caring whether he *stays* dead or not. It's kind of a 'piss or get off the pot' thing.

I'm certain I'd be feeling differently if it was a character other than Owen, but... well... it's Owen and I'm completely and irrationally biased!
ext_31419: (TW - Ianto oh f***)

[identity profile] ximeria.livejournal.com 2008-02-22 11:03 pm (UTC)(link)
It's hard doing a moving hand thing when everyone and their grandmothers have been watching the Addams Family LOL - also, it reminded me of the plastic arm from the first episode with Rose *g* on DW

Yes, to the Death thing, to a certain extent. I'm not religious, I'm agnostic, so the Death thing to me is more fascinating than anything else. Having said that, I lost both my parents -- my mum in '01 and my dad in '06, so I get what you mean. I do, however, try to look at the positive side and say that this is merely fiction, hence not necessarily what reality is like.

Oh god yes, we need a Ianto episode. Even if they're not going to focus as much on him as in S1's Cyberwoman, at least according to Gareth, I can still live with it if they give us just a tad bit more. I love that boy so much -- he's so dysfunctional, yet he works to well and fits so darned well with Jack.

JB is... well, tends to be... a bit over the top. I thought it was too in this one. As well as in Meat, but he can take it a lot further than most other actors I can think of, before it makes me go "That's enough John, less is more, darling." LOL

I... don't dislike Owen as such. However, I think what intrigues me with this ep and the next is, the thought of 'what if we had this power to resurrect the dead, does that mean we should truly USE that power? And if we do, are we ready to deal with the repercussions?', are we ready to do this to someone instead of letting them rest in piece. I'm gonna be watching, but I'm hoping they'll handle it really well, because there is the possibility it'll be badly written -- even if it's an intriguing idea, at least to me. But I fully get what you mean, btw. At least with the previews, you get a feel for whether or not it'll be your cuppa.

[identity profile] riverfox.livejournal.com 2008-02-21 08:00 pm (UTC)(link)
Agreed. And poor Jack, he does know better but sometimes gets that narrow tunnel vision. ::sighs::

I too thought of "28 Days Later" and "Resident Evil 2"! Although the reason for the deja vu didn't hit me till later. *gg*

I liked the episode, but it made me sad. Now Owen's got this Babylon 5 Sheridan "you have this much energy to live on till you die" thing going on. Next week's episode looks harsh but just as intriguing and reminds me of a Twilight Zone episode where this guy sells his soul to the devil to make him immortal and immediately goes out to try to kill himself over and over. Although I think the Torchwood episode will outshine that one. ;) I'm glad Owen's still alive, but at what price? Yikes. :)
ext_31419: (TW - Ianto oh f***)

[identity profile] ximeria.livejournal.com 2008-02-22 11:08 pm (UTC)(link)
See, yeah, I agree on that. I find the idea intriguing. That they did this, they resurrected Owen, dealt with the fallout -- barely -- I love the difference in DW and TW -- Martha was with the Doctor, and things turned out okay, because let's face it, the Doctor can handle a lot. Now TW? They fiddle with things they shouldn't with alien tech. They might as well bring about the end of the World themselves instead of doing their jobs, basically preventing exactly that from happening *g* - then again, TW has gone from defending earth to just knicking alien tech when they can.

Like a bunch of bad kids, really, playing with stuff they shouldn't. Now I can't wait to see how they will deal with Owen, and even more, how Owen will deal with it. Poor sod, I didn't like him all that much in S1, I've warmed to him through S2 so far, but what he's going through? I wouldn't even do to my worst enemy.

[identity profile] riverfox.livejournal.com 2008-02-23 07:15 am (UTC)(link)
I don't see that change from protection to thieving, but maybe I've just overlooked it. ;) I sometimes like TW more than DW primarily because when they screw up, the solution tends to be nasty rather than halo-glowy. Case in point, DW's solution to save the world had everyone on the planet thinking "Doctor." TW's solution was having Jack die repeatedly. No pain for the first one, serious pain in the second. While I adore DW, the episodes tend to be a bit too sanitized. When I need gritty hardcore realism, TW is the answer.

I wasn't too crazy about Owen either but he's also grown on me. ;) I too am interested to see how they deal with the fall-out of what they did to Owen.

nialla: (Torchwood - Ianto Knows Everything)

[personal profile] nialla 2008-02-22 01:58 am (UTC)(link)
It may be because I'm such a fan of the movie (And Michael Biehn. And Bill Paxton. And shit blowing up. *g*), but whole sequence with the glove running around reminded me of the scenes in "Aliens" where Ripley and Newt are locked in a room with two facehuggers and the Marines save the day.

This was reinforced by the glove going straight for Martha's face, a la facehugger. You'd think the literal touch of death wouldn't have to go for the face.

I was kinda miffed that Ianto didn't have some snarky quips. I know it was a dark episode in one sense, but I like dark humor.

I'm not quite sure if I can say I like this one yet, because I think we'll need to see the next part to fully understand things. It was dark, yes, but it didn't feel really coherent about what was happening, but that may change after we get more answers (if they deign to give us any).
ext_31419: (Default)

[identity profile] ximeria.livejournal.com 2008-02-22 11:37 pm (UTC)(link)
I had a good comment to this which LJ chose to swallow, the bastard.

Yeah, I agree that it's hard to really say anything that will take in the whole picture without having seen the next episode. -- and as much as I liked the darkness in this one, I sort of missed the comments from Ianto as well -- even if I absolutely adored his squal when Martha woke up *g*