Entry tags:
1st impressions regarding Exit Wounds aka the episode that broke Xim
That was absolutely painful to watch, in all the good ways. I have to give some credit to Joss Whedon, because he's the one who taught me to handle character death. I'm not sure what I'd have done if I'd never watched Serenity as an example. For the final of TW, well, it pretty much broke my heart. I'm going to rewatch and I might be able to put some decent though to it by then, but for now, it's just the impression I got from watching it once.
I fell in love with the characters all over again, even Owen and Tosh. More than enough for me to be wailing my heart out at the ending.
My heart broke for Jack. So he saw that as his penance? Jeez, he was buried alive for nearly two milleniae (sp) constantly reviving and suffocating... It boggles the mind that he didn't go mad. Whatever the Master did to him during the year that never was, it can't have been half as bad as this. I can't wrap my mind around it.
Love how Gwen takes over at the police station -- now THAT's the Gwen I've been missing quite a few times. The competent one.
Owen... oh jeez, where to begin. Sarky as always, King of the Weevils, bull-shitter extraordinaire. And if possible, the final scene at the nuclear power plant? I forgave him for being an arse through half of the show and fell just a little bit in love with him. In the end so calm, even though he knew his final death would be terrible.
Tosh... Fighting to the end to set things right, her last deed being to calm Owen to make him face his oncoming demise. Her last moment with the others, Jack in particular. She has paid her penance aplenty, and judging from that smile on her face, she could see how proud Jack was of her. and the vid-log of hers in the end. Might have been a bit over the top, but I still loved it.
Jack... deadset on carrying on, even more now than ever, I think. I am proud of him for his choice to be unfrozen so it fits after he's taken back to 27AD. Even though he could change time and make it so it never happened. Who wouldn't be tempted? I love seeing this side of Jack, a man who can be rather reckless, but these days? He is many times the man he used to be.
Ianto... As he finalizes the personnel files on Owen and Tosh, eyes red and teeth clenched. I think I might love him even more. How he demands to speak with Jack on the com-link when John calls to taunt them. How he and Tosh draw their guns on the Grim Reaper guys and just finish them off. How they shoot the weevils about to attack Gwen and John, and straight from there, Ianto going for John's throat.
John... Yeah. I like him better now -- seeing his road to redemption. Seeing the way he genuinely still loves Jack, but I think he's getting to a point where he can start anew and maybe get over it, though I love the kiss to Jack's cheek in the end -- it gives you so much more insight into the character and i have to admit that I am very impressed by James Marster's performance.
I am looking forward to the next series -- but what I can say for S2? It is so much better written/directed/acted than the first series and there are so many golden moments in it that I'd be hard pressed to find my favorite, though of course, as a slasher I absolutely love the Jack/Ianto moments/make-out sessions. I have to thank the whole team for entertaining me like I haven't been in ages. Here's to a hopefully fantabulous S3.

no subject
I loved most of the eps this season and I'm going to miss Ownen and yeah, probably Tosh a wee bit too.
no subject
no subject
I feel absolutely wrecked right now. I'm waiting for my best friend of 20 years to call me back when she's done watching, and I think we'll both have a good whimper together.
S2 has just been light-years better than 1. And I have to say that I'm glad that it didn't lead right into Doctor Who this time. Jack and Ianto and Gwen need some time to heal, and I loved that it ended with the three of them (quite literally) leaning on each other.
no subject
no subject
Owen really won me over in his dead state, and after seeing last week's ep and finding out what happened to bring him to Torchwood, I could forgive him for being such a twat. And then they take him out altogether!
Bastards.
I'm not sure I can forgive them for taking out Tosh. She had so much potential :o(
I love JM. End of. I am glad they put a softer side to John, because 100% bad guys are boring. I hope he comes back again, perhaps they can develop the character a bit more and give us a little of Jack and his backstory with the Time Agency. That's something that they haven't done any more than briefly touch on.
Love Rhys. He's so down with all this crap now, bless him.
I did like seeing Gwen doing her kickass thing, but what I liked even more was her curled up on the floor. After the adrenaline had dissipated a bit, I think that's exactly what you would do in that situation.
There wasn't enough of Ianto, and I would have liked Jack to turn to him in his loss, just to show a little vulnerability y'know? That he doesn't have to be BigStrong!Jack all the time for the team. I guess that's a gap fanfic will fill!
Jack was very brave. He's obviously come a very long way since his conman days. It would be cool to explore some of that journey. Heartbreaking to see him with Gray, but understandable that the torture would have made Gray insane. Stoic of him to accept what must have been at least as bad as what Gray went through, just because he blamed himself for what happened. Amazing. But I think I love him more knowing how much he's changed.
I suppose they had to get rid of someone in the finale, but two? I really didn't think that was necessary at all. :o(
I am still looking forward to the next season though.
no subject
no subject
Owen gør mig ikke så meget, men jeg er ked af Tosh. Alle siger series to er meget bedre end series et, når jeg kommer hjem bliver du nok nødt til at vise mig det :-)
no subject