Entry tags:
Why...
<rant>
do some asshats think it's a good idea to code the colour of the text of their posts on communities? Bloody, friggin' idiots!
I'm sorry, I don't see any redeeming value to something like that? And I love the merlinxarthur community for STATING in their rules of posting that you are not allowed to re-code the text -- only, of course their text settings stink (who the hell sets the italics code to show as light grey text when the background's white?), but apart from that, just the fact that they state it.
Now then, why do people force the font colour or size? I mean, you're not going to be reading your own post, are you? I mean, not as closely as everyone else is. So why, oh why, do you fuck it up by setting your text as light grey/white -- you know, I have grey background on my friendspage as well as my mainpage. It means your post shows up as something REALLY wonky looking.
*smacks people over their heads*
Really, if you don't know what you're fiddling with, keep you sticky bleedin' fingers off the code!
</rant>
do some asshats think it's a good idea to code the colour of the text of their posts on communities? Bloody, friggin' idiots!
I'm sorry, I don't see any redeeming value to something like that? And I love the merlinxarthur community for STATING in their rules of posting that you are not allowed to re-code the text -- only, of course their text settings stink (who the hell sets the italics code to show as light grey text when the background's white?), but apart from that, just the fact that they state it.
Now then, why do people force the font colour or size? I mean, you're not going to be reading your own post, are you? I mean, not as closely as everyone else is. So why, oh why, do you fuck it up by setting your text as light grey/white -- you know, I have grey background on my friendspage as well as my mainpage. It means your post shows up as something REALLY wonky looking.
*smacks people over their heads*
Really, if you don't know what you're fiddling with, keep you sticky bleedin' fingers off the code!
</rant>

no subject
Mind you I have seen worse there was a post on MerlinxArthur this morning linked to the writers journal small mid-grey text on dark grey
no subject
no subject
'Now then, why do people force the font colour or size?'
I have a theory that most people who do it, think it makes their story more interesting. No, better writing would make their story more interesting.
I'll admit that I changed my journal to white text on a dark gray background.
no subject
Scary thought, but I think you might be right.
I don't mind the individual LJs, because unless you go in and force each entry with HTML code, it will show up with whatever setting the viewer has their friendspage set to. It will show as light on dark background with you and dark on light background on my flist page.
That's what I want people to do. Change the LJ settings for their own journals so they don't interfer with the rest of our viewing. Fiddling with the text colour in the single entry will only make me beat them about their heads even more.
no subject
It's either that or those poor delusional souls really do think it looks good. Every time I see someone murder HTML the artist in me dies a little.
no subject
no subject
no subject
And I have to admit, if people can't be arsed to code correctly, then I can't be arsed to read the story.
no subject
no subject
Although, if people can't be arsed to check the rules, then there's always the option of deleting their entry until they GET it.
no subject
Another peeve is when, instead of putting spoilers behind a cut-tag, people code so the text is white. Which, of course, only doesn't hide a damn thing on a black f-page.
But my number one coding irritant is people who write code into an img src tag. It doesn't matter if it's coded to display as 100x100 pixels, if the image file itself is 5000x5000 the poor sod reading the page still has to download the whole file. Not fun if you're on dial-up or accessing from a library/café/multi-user network. I've lost count of the number of times my PDA has freaked out on me because someone couldn't be bothered to spend 10 seconds resizing an image properly.
no subject
Why in the world would you do that!?
no subject
Of course, everyone who can't afford a decent connection or PC is screwed over, but as the majority of people modding communities either don't notice, don't understand, or don't care...
no subject
no subject
no subject
As for the image thing. That is just... rude. I started out on the internet with an old fashioned modem, I know it's no fun half the of the sites you go through these days -- and even worse, the pictures are never all that good looking because you can never get a smooth surface when resizing it like that.
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
I can't read white text on a blue background myself, but one of my kids is dyslexic, and converts everything to that setting to read it.
no subject
no subject
It often means I can't resize the text, which is almost a necessity for me these days, and if the font's weird, it's unreadable at any size.
Plus I like being able to use my own easy for me to read style. I use the heck out of LJ Addons to click fic over to my style.
I have a suspicion many of those doing this are of a younger age where pretty and sparkly = bestest evar!!!11!!!
no subject
I tend to use the setting in Opera that allows me to suspend other people's CSS coding on any website -- it's saved me many a headache
no subject
For people just learning about fandom and the wealth of it online, they might assume it's supposed to be obnoxiously loud like a MySpace page.
no subject
I love new and shiny things, but back when myspace came about? I ran away screaming XD
no subject
I know a lot of public libraries block sites like MySpace for various reasons. We don't, but the bloody annoying music many play loud enough where I can hear across the room even though they're wearing earphones is pushing it.