Entry tags:
Wow
I've officially been blown away. I dare you to find me a movie that will do that to me. Because after Watchmen? No other movie will be good enough.
Mr. Spielberg, Mr Lucas... it's about time you guys retired. You'll never blow my mind the was this movie did.
I read the comic when I was around 10-12 years old -- most of it probably went over my head XD but I've recently started reading it again, giving it the attention it deserves. I thought my expectations would've been too high.
They weren't.
They were, if anything, a lot lower than the film delivered.
O.o
I'm in love. With the characters, the perfectly casted actors, the choice of music and the bleak, warped world of the Watchmen.
I'm officially awed.
Both
nora_charles and I agreed that we'd be watching that movie again.
I have the feeling the new Wolverine movie won't make all that much of an impact now XD
Mr. Spielberg, Mr Lucas... it's about time you guys retired. You'll never blow my mind the was this movie did.
I read the comic when I was around 10-12 years old -- most of it probably went over my head XD but I've recently started reading it again, giving it the attention it deserves. I thought my expectations would've been too high.
They weren't.
They were, if anything, a lot lower than the film delivered.
O.o
I'm in love. With the characters, the perfectly casted actors, the choice of music and the bleak, warped world of the Watchmen.
I'm officially awed.
Both
I have the feeling the new Wolverine movie won't make all that much of an impact now XD

no subject
It's gotten rave reviews from all but 1 of the people I know, and at that the 1 person who did not think it was fantastic was mostly upset about the sex scenes - thinking they did not need to be as long or as explicit as they were. I do not agree with him; I think the source graphic novel was explicit so it is being true to that, and that the author used the sexual interactions to make a point that glossing over or shortening the on screen time of the sex scenes would have lessened. The difference between what happened when Dan and Laurie were getting it on versus when NiteOwl and Silk Spectre were getting it on was an important plot point for how the superhero persona increased their self esteem and affected their physical reactions. Shortening the scene in Archie (or fading to black to avoid being explicit entirely) would have discounted that.
So yes, totally blown away and a fantastic job.
no subject
no subject
no subject
I did not have a problem telling him why I thought the sex scenes were not only appropriate but necessary to the character development, and as his objections were mostly on moral grounds it made it hard for him to counter my point.
no subject
no subject
no subject
i already watched it twice and i'm thinking about going again because it was just that good.
what does it say about me that the last movie i went to see multiple times was MAMMA MIA?! ::facepalms::i can't get over how magnificent that opening sequence was or how much in love i fell with the characters, even though (or especially because) they are so flawed.
and the visuals? i mean, take a look at the comic, it's like the characters stepped out of it and onto the screen. same goes for the buildings, etc. the cinematography paid such a great homage to the panels of the graphic novel.
stop me or i'll just keep on talking about it!
no subject
Don't worry, i completely agree ^_^
no subject
it was awesome, yes?
i will pimp this fic to you - http://miniature-hero.livejournal.com/4277.html
no subject
And yes, it was awesomesauce.
no subject
no subject
It's a work of art and I doubt I'll be this blown out of the water by another movie for the forseeable future. I daren't say ever, because that'd just be sad LOL
But yeah, fab movie.
no subject
Oh, the decisions were are faced with in this life! *g*
no subject
no subject
no subject