ximeria: (Default)
ximeria ([personal profile] ximeria) wrote2007-07-19 10:27 pm
Entry tags:

Danish invasion of Scotland, day 1



Let's see if I can do a round up on the Scotland trip. It was a long one, but alas, I miss the Clan already. Terribly much, so.

Summary of what I've been doing in the land of the kilt clad people *g*



Friday July 6th, 2007

And I was off. Well, more or less. I had to get up and take the train a bit to 6AM and let's get one thing clear, I can get up and out of bed, but I wouldn't swear on anything that I was actually awake...

Took the train to Copenhagen Airport, took about 1h 45mins, so that wasn't too bad. It was dry when I left Odense, but by the time I got off in the airport, it had long since started raining. A few of us almost got off a station too early. The loco driver wasn't supposed to stop there and he claimed it was the airport. Thankfully someone else was awake and we stayed on the train until we got to the damned airport.

Check-in took ages, and I actually managed to check in two hours before the plane was planned to leave. Checkin started around 45mins earlier... so yeah, 45mins in a line...

We were driven in a bus out to the plane, but thankfully the rain was a mere drizzle, so we didn't get wet going from the bus to the plane.

The flight was fairly uneventful. As always I managed a few shots out the window. Seems I almost always end up with a window seat *g* -- hey, I like the view. Well, there was a view every once in a while, but it was overcast so the only plus to it was that above the clouds the sun was shining. It almost got a little too hot to sit by the window, but it was definitely beautiful.

Setting down in Edinburgh airport, I felt like home. It was 13C, and raining. The same as when I'd left Copenhage XD

Luggage took ages to get through, though, so even if we were on time and it took no time to get through passport control... well, it took a good 45mins before my luggage came rolling by. We joked about how airport security sucked, because the line where our luggage was set to come out, there was a bag and it kept going around and around and around and... and it was still there when we got our luggage!

On the bus, the no 100, I was off toward Waverley station in the midst of Edinburg. Took a little half hour and when I got off, I quickly found Nicci's hubby waiting for me in the bus shelter. Yes, it was still raining...

He proceeded to take me for the best damned Guinness in the city (need to ask for the name of the pub) and he was right. It tasted fabulously.

Then we headed toward Haymarket, because we had to take the train from there to Dunfermline where Nicci would pick us up. We detoured around the Last Drop for a bit to eat (and another beer). Then we were off again. Only stopped in a sports pub to inspect the facilities and yes, another beer XD

Train ride to Dunfermline accompanied by rain and more rain and then I got a huge big hug from Nicci as well when we got off and went to get to the car. I was a little scared what with the INSANELY NARROW ROADS you people have. But, Nicci's a good driver, so that went away fairly fast. I'm just used to wider roads XD

So, got home and met most of the clan. Insanity ensued, as Becca had a friend visiting and we went to pick up a friend of Kailyn's as well. So yeah, huge big dinner with family and attached family *g*

Nicci swore that it had been trial by fire, but I didn't mind. I like noisy people like that. We had pizza and much to Nicci's amusement, yes I do like pineapple on my pizza! Thank you kindly.

I think we went shopping as well, but that might have been one of the other days XD

Borrowed Kailyn's bed for the night and crashed like WHOA *g*

Only two pictures from the day from the plane. Taken with my ancient 1,3MP camera.